PRINCE : The Midnight Mix-Tape Tribute by Soul of Sydney DJ’s + Afterparty Info

As Prince Fans around Sydney get ready to experience the man live at performances kicking off next Friday, we though it was about time we dropped  a few mix-tapes just to remind everyone just how prolific & extremely talented the man actually is & how much the music world owes to such a talent.

This is part of our “Midnight Mix-Tape” tribute to Prince, It is more a selection of cuts you need to know about as a SOUL, FUNK fan rather than a mix of the Prince run of the mill hits that everyone knows.

Hope you enjoy the mixes.

Also Look out for more of our Midnight Mix-Tapes dropping at Midnight on Twitter & Online & Facebook


Run Time: 46 Mins

Download : (Shoot us an email for DL link)


  1. Lets Go Cray (Intro)
  2. I Hate You (Album Mix)
  3. Most Beautiful Girl (Mustag Mix)
  4. Somebody Somebody
  5. Letitgo (Original)
  6. Dear Mr Man
  7. Sex In The Summer
  8. The Greatest Romance Ever Sold Feat. Q -Tip (The Neptune’s Remix)
  9. 18 & Over
  10. Jam Of The Year
  11. 5 Women
  12. The Good Life (Album Version)
  13. Love Sign (Shock G‘s Silky Remix)
  14. Pop Life (Fresh







SOULFUL JAZZY HOUSE: Studio Apartment ft Kenny Bobien – Isnt she lovely (Original), (DJ Oji Lovely Remix) & (DJ Kawasaki Remix)

English: , British drum and bass, house music ...Studio Apartment is the dance music duo of Japanese DJ Masanori Morita and keyboard player Noboru Abe. The two have produced numerous singles that have featured various singers and been compiled into a series of albums. World Line was released in December 2005, followed by People to People in March 2006 and Museum Euterpe in September 2006. For Her for Him for You, released in July 2007, featured Blaze, Monique Bingham, Kimara Lovelace, Ron Carroll, Deborah Bond, and AK. The Rising Sun, issued by King Street Sounds/Nite Grooves in June 2008, featured many of the same performers, along with Joi Cardwell, Akiko, Stephanie Cooke, Terrance Downs, and Kenny Bobien.

Isn’t she lovely” by STUDIO APARTMENT re-works the original Stevie Wonder’s  Soul classic into an all out Soulful House masterpiece that has emerged to become  an underground house classic around the world. This is especially acclaimed track in their release and the 12 inch includes remix for DJ OJI that released previously only available on MIX CD alongside Instrumental mix which never unreleased on CD. Only this release found original re-edit version by Masanori Morita who provides much more bumping beat to the dancefloor.  DJ OJI remixed percussive track interpretation of afro beat original running smoothly. Guitar and saxphone solo playing to the end creates jazzy atomosphere to the dancefloor.DJ OJI’s pounding beat aptly overlayed with Kenny Bobien’s fascinated falsetto voice built into much moody.

DISCO, DEEP HOUSE: Rufus & Chaka Khan – Ain’t Nobody (Frankie Knuckles Hallucinogenic Remix)

Rufus & Chaka Khan – Ain’t Nobody (Frankie Knuckles’ Hallucinogenic MIX)

This was a classic Disco cut to begin with & when someone like Frankie Knuckles gets hold of the masters, you know its going to be a special moment in HOUSE music.  If you ask me it is also one of the finest bits of remixing work he has ever put his name to.  The man just seems to have a such a great ablity to remix R&B & Soul into a House like nobody else.
Have a look at some of the artsits he has remixed;

I am looking for this on vinyl too if anyone has it for sale please get in touch at facebook.

Soul Of Sydney#10: The Yellow Mix: Hip Hop, Beats & Funk Breaks Mix by EdSeven

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]

Soul Of Sydney Podcast #10

A 35min mix of Funk inspired Beats and Hip Hop, put together by Sydney based producer,Re-mixer and party rocker EdSeven

Download: Here

Time: 35 Mins



1. Craig Mack – Get Down
2. Dj Cam – The Nautilus
3. Dj Kentaro – Tasogare Highway High
4. Oh No – Kashmere bonus beats
5. Rednose Distrikt – Mo’s
6.N.O.R.E – Nothin’ (instrumental)
7. Black Sheep – The Choice is yours
8. Oh No – Chump
9. Cookin’ on 3 Burners – Settle the Score (edseven remix)
10. Bama and the Family – Feeling Good
11. Jimmy Edgar – Morris Nightingale Theme
12. Jackhigh – So Many Ways (Jackhigh remix)
13. Waajeed – Pride
14. Ammoncontact – Drops
15. Africa Hitech – One Two
16. Masters at Work – Jus a little Dope
17. Waajeed – Fire
18. Grooveman Spot – Social change

Download: Here

About EdSeven

Local DJ/Producer who has played  alongside artists including Roots Manuva, Only Child, Bassnectar, Aim, Ursula Rucker, Domu, Alice Russell, Quantic, dj Spooky.

He has been putting together some very crafty sets pushing everything from Hip Hop, Dub, Funk, Jazz, Future Soul, Broken Beat and Electronica. He has even been featured as a guest mix for Ninja tune‘s Solid Steel radio show.putting together. Check out more info,remixes and mixtapes here;

Catch Ed Playing around town;

Space Is The Place pres. SAMIYAM (Brainfeeder, USA)


Thursday Sept 16th.

Tone, (16 Wentworth Ave, Surry Hills)

Info + Tix


18th September @ The Croft Institute (Melbourne)

Supports: EDSEVEN (sydney), Prequel, Andras Fox Martin L

Tix + Info

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]


Connect With Soul Of Sydney


[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]


Connect With Soul Of Sydney

Track of the Day: Fela Kuti – Water No Get Enemy (Tribute by Femi Kuti, Macy Gray, Nile Rogers, Roy Hargrove, D’Angelo, Positive Force, The Soultronics)

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]

Its been belting down rain & freezing all week in Sydney, but this dope remake paying tribute to FELA should get you a little warmer for at least 6 minutes. There is some amazing musicians doing there thing on this one; Femi Kuti, D’angelo,Roy Hargrove and Macy Gray all one one tune.


Taken from compilation Red Hot + Riot : The Music and Spirit of Fela Kuti, put out by Red Hot Organization as a fundraising tool for AIDS awareness efforts. The compilation is inspired by the works of  the late Nigerian musician Fela Kuti, was released by MCA on October 15, 2002 and featured more than three dozen artists on a score of tracks.

Track listing

  1. “Fela Mentality” (Intro) – Fela Kuti
  2. “Kalakuta Show” – Gift of Gab & Lateef
  3. “Interlude: Live At Kalakuta” – Fela Kuti
  4. “Shuffering & Shmiling” – Dead Prez, Talib Kweli, Jorge Ben and Bilal
  5. “Interlude: Gimme Shit” – Mixmaster Mike
  6. “Water No Get Enemy” – Mixmaster Mike
  7. “Water No Get Enemy” – D’Angelo, Femi Kuti, Macy Gray and The Soultronics (featuring Nile Rodgers & Roy Hargrove)
  8. “Gentleman” – Me’Shell NdegéOcello & Yerba Buena (featuring Ron Blake)
  9. “Years Of Tears and Sorrow” – Common and Djelimady Tounkara
  10. “Shakara / Lady (Part One)” – Cheikh Lo
  11. “Shakara / Lady (Part Two)” – Cheikh Lo, Les Nubians and Manu Dibango
  12. “Don’t Worry About My Mouth O” (African Message) – Fela Kuti
  13. “Zombie (Part One)” – Bugz In The Attic (featuring Wunmi)
  14. “Zombie (Part Two)” – Nile Rodgers & Roy Hargrove
  15. “No Agreement” – Res, Tony Allen, Ray Lema, Baaba Maal, Positive Black Soul and Archie Shepp
  16. “So Be It” – Kelis
  17. “Interlude: This Is An Ashanti Proverb” – Fela Kuti
  18. “By Your Side” – Sade (Cottonbelly Remix)
  19. “Colonial Mentality” – Yerba Buena
  20. “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am” – Baaba Maal and Taj Mahal (featuring Kaouding Cissoko)

Download Here or Here

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]


Connect With Soul Of Sydney