Soul of Sydney LOVES DIVA Vocals.. Danny Krivit Dropping Whitney Houston Acapella in 2016 at Soul of Sydney

Danny Krivit in Sydney about this time 4 years ago.. What a magical moment seeing him drop this killer 3min acapella under purple lights.. This still gives me goosebumps..

We cant wait to do this again soon.. stay safe 

Erykah Badu & Jill Scott IG Battle – [Full Video 2.5 Hours]

SOUL POWER: Erykah Badu & Miss Jill Scott filled us with love this morning with their all queen’s IG Battle. Love it when good music brings the world together.

A little moment in music when two QUEENS came together to show the world how it should be done. The music was amazing, but it was their interactions between each other that put the biggest smile on our faces, loved how close they are & how much positivity they give each other.

  1. Round 1: You Got Me & You Got Me (Live)
  2. Round 2: On & On & Getting In The Way
  3. Round 3: Didn’t Cha Know &. Rolling Hills
  4. Round 4: Back In The Day & Slowly Surely
  5. Round 5: Other Side Of The Game & Calls
  6. Round 6: Appletree & Whenever You’re Around
  7. Round 7: Time’s A Wastin’ & Can’t Wait
  8. Round 8: Cleva & Watchin’ Me
  9. Round 9: Danger & Fool’s Gold
  10. Round 10: Next Lifetime & Honey Molasses
  11. Round 11: Smile Today & Jahraymecofasola
  12. Round 12: I Want You & Love Rain
  13. Round 13: Love Of My Life & So In Love
  14. Round 14: The Healer & Crown Royal
  15. Round 15: Honey & A Long Walk
  16. Round 16: Bag Lady (Radio Edit) & Blessed
  17. Round 17: Window Seat & The Way
  18. Round 18: Tyrone (Live) & He Loves Me (Live)
  19. Round 19: Green Eyes & Cross My Mind

This was pure magic, Jill Scott was scheduled to play later this month at Jill Scott | Vivid LIVE – 22, 23 & 25, 26 May. I only hope this gets rescheduled once things get back to normality.



A new soul funk joint Inspired by New Orleans Friend Chicken ? Yes Please.

Just caught this little instrumental FUNK gem from NYC based organ trio DLG 3 who explore the realms of Funk, Soul & Jazz.

The tune was inspired by my and guitarist John Lynch’s hangs on Frenchmen Street during tour stops in New Orleans. The tune features Jesse Blum of the MisterWives on trumpet, Russ Paladino on sax, and “Organ Monk” Greg Lewis on the B3 organ.

This is a feel good song that everyone needs to hear right now in a feel bad time!

Stay safe & check out more from DLG via links below:

UK Soul Jazz – Sooner of Later – Nyah Grace


Sooner or Later from Nyah Grace’s debut album titled HONEY-COLOURED which is due out very soon.

Originally from the depths of rural Oregon, Nyah grew up listening to Lauryn Hill, D’Angelo and Estelle, artists whose neo-soul sound echoes the jazzy chord progressions of those early icons she admired, like Billie Holiday.

Nyah wanted to be a singer “but didn’t think it was a rational dream” until her Manager came on-board and introduced her to Steve Chrisanthou, the Grammy, Ivor Novello, BRIT and MOBO nominated producer/songwriter who is best known for his work with Corinne Bailey Rae and Lianne La Havas.

Now residing in the UK, she has found her musical home, and with her debut album “HONEY-COLOURED” Ms Grace with her young band are ready to take the stage. A cool, subtle Neo-soul vibe with delicious hints of jazz is awash with hooks destined to capture ears eager to hear some fresh new sounds.

Check out more via links below

Sydney Music: MIKE CHAMPION drops new Lockdown Video with COTTONBRO

Sydney soul artist MIKE CHAMPION used some of this time in lockdown to put together this crafty new video release.

LONG STATUS ALERT🚨🙏🏾 Are we losing our minds in Lockdown? If I completely lose my mind I‘ll be more then grateful for the opportunity God has given me to create a new better, bolder, more committed, more selfless mind to explore the new world with! Here’s sending my people more life, more power.

I don’t know what compelled me to write and record a rap verse. I’m not a rapper. Something about those Kaytranada drums brought out the bars in me 😆 (This is his beat I just borrowed it🙌🏾). Or maybe it was hearing these remarkable words from the forever inspiring Russell Brand while scrolling through the gram.🤯🙌🏾

Big Up the CottonBro fam for the collabo as well📹🔥. If this time has taught me anything thus far, it’s that we shouldn’t be afraid to be who we truly are in every situation life brings our way. The World as we’ve known it is ending because a New World is what we need. A world of love and patience and gratitude for the things that really matter. It’s important this approach stems from the bottom up and not the other way around. The Power is with we the people. 

I’m striving to believe in my own power from this point on in and If I happen to slip back into to old ways of thinking, please somebody hold me accountable! 🙏🏾 2020. Has been a much needed lesson for me, for us, for humanity. I know many people have lost lives, loved ones, lost jobs and income, lost out on opportunities to travel (me and my family included). It’s clear we have experienced great loss as a people. But with great loss there is always greatness to be gained moving forward. Great struggle creates even greater strength. I know we will be better because of this. We can only move towards being more together as a people of the Earth coming out of this. This is why for me holistically 2020 has been a Great Year! Let me know in the comments what’s been great about 2020 for you fam? “ILY❤️.Yours Sincerely,

Young Boy🤘🏾

Sydney Funk + Hip Hop collective RENEGADE FUNKTRAIN live on Recovery (1996)

Sydney Funk & Hip Hop collective RENEGADE FUNKTRAIN formed back in 1994 and made pretty dope music for the short time they were around infusing heavy live grooves with the full band & live scratching & MC’s like no not many others were doing at the time. We loved this band back in the high-school days, wish they put out a few more releases.

From memory only released one self-titled album in 1995 & a couple of singles, some of which we still play at our parties today.

This is a clip of them doing their it large with the full band live on Recovery on a Saturday morning back in 1996. You can see brother and sister Rosano & Tina Martinez up front on vocals, DJ ASK adding cuts and the band Dereck Antunes (on drums) alongside Juan Gonzalez (keyboard) and Adam Dehnem on Bass.

We found this & a stack of killer local Sydney music from the likes of King Farook, Good BuddhaSKUNKHOURDIG Directions In GrooveThe Ray Mann ThreeDojo CutsFonke Knomaads, DJ Soup, MC Kye / Budspells, Atone, Wicked Beat Sound System, Ali Omar & more.

We cant wait to put it in a podcast and share in the next few weeks.

We will be dropping something on our Soundcloud page soon HERE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

#renegadefunktrain #sydneyhiphop #sydneyfunk #sydneymusic #sydney #soulofsydney #australianfunk #australianjazz #sydneyjazz