Track of the Day: Fela Kuti – Water No Get Enemy (Tribute by Femi Kuti, Macy Gray, Nile Rogers, Roy Hargrove, D’Angelo, Positive Force, The Soultronics)

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]

Its been belting down rain & freezing all week in Sydney, but this dope remake paying tribute to FELA should get you a little warmer for at least 6 minutes. There is some amazing musicians doing there thing on this one; Femi Kuti, D’angelo,Roy Hargrove and Macy Gray all one one tune.


Taken from compilation Red Hot + Riot : The Music and Spirit of Fela Kuti, put out by Red Hot Organization as a fundraising tool for AIDS awareness efforts. The compilation is inspired by the works of  the late Nigerian musician Fela Kuti, was released by MCA on October 15, 2002 and featured more than three dozen artists on a score of tracks.

Track listing

  1. “Fela Mentality” (Intro) – Fela Kuti
  2. “Kalakuta Show” – Gift of Gab & Lateef
  3. “Interlude: Live At Kalakuta” – Fela Kuti
  4. “Shuffering & Shmiling” – Dead Prez, Talib Kweli, Jorge Ben and Bilal
  5. “Interlude: Gimme Shit” – Mixmaster Mike
  6. “Water No Get Enemy” – Mixmaster Mike
  7. “Water No Get Enemy” – D’Angelo, Femi Kuti, Macy Gray and The Soultronics (featuring Nile Rodgers & Roy Hargrove)
  8. “Gentleman” – Me’Shell NdegéOcello & Yerba Buena (featuring Ron Blake)
  9. “Years Of Tears and Sorrow” – Common and Djelimady Tounkara
  10. “Shakara / Lady (Part One)” – Cheikh Lo
  11. “Shakara / Lady (Part Two)” – Cheikh Lo, Les Nubians and Manu Dibango
  12. “Don’t Worry About My Mouth O” (African Message) – Fela Kuti
  13. “Zombie (Part One)” – Bugz In The Attic (featuring Wunmi)
  14. “Zombie (Part Two)” – Nile Rodgers & Roy Hargrove
  15. “No Agreement” – Res, Tony Allen, Ray Lema, Baaba Maal, Positive Black Soul and Archie Shepp
  16. “So Be It” – Kelis
  17. “Interlude: This Is An Ashanti Proverb” – Fela Kuti
  18. “By Your Side” – Sade (Cottonbelly Remix)
  19. “Colonial Mentality” – Yerba Buena
  20. “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am” – Baaba Maal and Taj Mahal (featuring Kaouding Cissoko)

Download Here or Here

[tweetmeme source=”soulofsydney” only_single=false]


Connect With Soul Of Sydney

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.